Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

Can't texture my map!

Having a problem with a shader or texture
quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Can't texture my map!

Postby quick » Mon Feb 04, 2013 4:04 pm

Hi all pros.
I did my first map, hurray, but one of my friends should texture it for me, but he uninstalled GtkRadiant.
Then there is a problem for me. I can't texture it. It's not because I'm noob to maps, but because my GtkRadiant 1.6 is anoying.
I use that because 1.5 gives me errors, and don't let me save my map, so can't see why use that old version.
When I caulked everthing, and want to texture, I choose the wall I want to texture, and click Textures, and choose a texture, and then I press T, but only caulk is in the box.
How can I see, and set my texture?
I followed a guide, like my friend did, and I did what it said. What's wrong?

User avatar
xandaxs
Posts: 959
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Contact:

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby xandaxs » Mon Feb 04, 2013 4:26 pm

you need to double click each texture in case you ain't doing it...

BTW: Don't select a whole brush and texture it, select only visible faces, to do so you've 2 ways, you either:
- Select the brush, then press CTRL+F (you can also use the face select button on top of gtk, looks like a cube with a face stripped) and select the face.
- Without having the brush selected press CTRL+SHIFT+MOUSE1, pointing to the face(s) you want textured.
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> morning Nounou
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> wotcha doing?
[12:25] <Nounou> hello
[12:26] <Nounou> nothing much, i've nothing to do at work so
[12:26] <Nounou> modeling woman
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> woo
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> real women?
[12:26] <Nounou> realistic yes, on maya

Image

quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby quick » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:14 pm

xandaxs wrote:you need to double click each texture in case you ain't doing it...

BTW: Don't select a whole brush and texture it, select only visible faces, to do so you've 2 ways, you either:
- Select the brush, then press CTRL+F (you can also use the face select button on top of gtk, looks like a cube with a face stripped) and select the face.
- Without having the brush selected press CTRL+SHIFT+MOUSE1, pointing to the face(s) you want textured.


So u mean I have to double click on it, when I want to texture under the Textures panel?

User avatar
xandaxs
Posts: 959
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Contact:

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby xandaxs » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:18 pm

yes, double click the texture to apply to the visible faces / brush
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> morning Nounou
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> wotcha doing?
[12:25] <Nounou> hello
[12:26] <Nounou> nothing much, i've nothing to do at work so
[12:26] <Nounou> modeling woman
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> woo
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> real women?
[12:26] <Nounou> realistic yes, on maya

Image

quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby quick » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:21 pm

Don't work. I clicked 2 times on abbey2 after selected the face, but it don't comes, and it's not under T.

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby vulture » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:40 pm

are you trying to say that the texture doesnt appear in the list? then you probably either need to:
(1) need to list the shader file in the shaderlist file, or
(2) need to select your shader path from the path list browser on the left side in order actually show all the textures (rather than just the ones you actively use)

quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby quick » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:42 pm

I discovered some new. When I double click on the texture, and press T, then it's named Textures: abbey2, but I can only choose caulk, or rather I only see caulk as an option.

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby vulture » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:44 pm

or (3) you dont actually have any textures

I dont think you read my response. and maybe a screenshot would help explain your trouble since your english needs a little work ;)

quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby quick » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:50 pm

Image
Here's the screenshot.
If i don't have any texture, then how can I install them correctly?

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Can't texture my map!

Postby vulture » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:53 pm

that doesnt look like the texture window to me D:


Return to “Shaders / textures”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests