Welcome to CMM

We've created a Custom Map Makers Discord channel, if you'd like to join us on the CMM Discord Channel, click here

Error showing when trying to play the map

Having a problem with a shader or texture
quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby quick » Mon Apr 08, 2013 5:09 pm

Hi.
I've been working on a map in a long time and now when I want to test it it gives this error:
Requested feature was omitted at compile time
What causes this error. I've searched for it on net and they say it's a shader problem. I'm sure that all of my shaders works fine.
http://www.mediafire.com/?9opgav6h292jsan

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby vulture » Mon Apr 08, 2013 6:21 pm

make sure all your jpgs are "simple" -- no special encodings, no extra metadata, make sure you DISABLE "progressive" jpeg modes when saving your jpgs

quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby quick » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:24 pm

How can I see if they are encoded?

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby vulture » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:29 pm

the program you saved them with....

quick
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby quick » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:29 am

Most of them I download from net or I use Pixlr Editor, but I don't have any problem with my levelshots (Pixlr Editor).

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby vulture » Tue Apr 09, 2013 2:08 pm

It's fairly common for net images to use progressive, so you will often at the very least have to re-encode them. I'd also check their size to try to normalize it to something convenient for q3 offset/scaling. Try move ALL of your textures out of your texture folder and see if it still crashes. If one of your textures is the problem, then you will get a lot of missing textures, but it won't crash. If it still crashes, it could be something else.

User avatar
DagF
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby DagF » Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:24 am

There was a problem with one of the textures.
Resizing soloved the problem. I guess you reencode images when you save them, right?
Image

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Error showing when trying to play the map

Postby vulture » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:08 pm

yep :P, so I probably hit that spot on


Return to “Shaders / textures”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron