[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 113: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 113: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
Patch meshes - Custom Map Makers
Welcome to CMM

We've created a Custom Map Makers Discord channel, if you'd like to join us on the CMM Discord Channel, click here

Patch meshes

For all topics related to using or installing radiant
RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Patch meshes

Postby RedSnappa » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:29 am

I want to make a patch mesh larger than 15x15. Is there any way to do this? I tried to edit a MAP file manually and Radiant gave me an error.
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

User avatar
xandaxs
Posts: 959
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Contact:

Re: Patch meshes

Postby xandaxs » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:27 am

Just scale it?
The 15x15 has to do with the texture placement
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> morning Nounou
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> wotcha doing?
[12:25] <Nounou> hello
[12:26] <Nounou> nothing much, i've nothing to do at work so
[12:26] <Nounou> modeling woman
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> woo
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> real women?
[12:26] <Nounou> realistic yes, on maya

Image

User avatar
Rylius
King wiki
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Patch meshes

Postby Rylius » Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:00 am

I only use 3 by 3 patches, it's easier to work with them and avoids a lot of bugs/issues in Radiant, q3map2 and the engine.

User avatar
Douze
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:12 am

Re: Patch meshes

Postby Douze » Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:30 am

Make a 15x15 patche and check the position of all points (ie all points are on the grid before you move them - if not, just scale the patch and check again).
If the shape does not look the same in radiant and in game, try to use -patchmeta when compiling. This fixed my problem but increased tris number.

User avatar
ailmanki
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:06 am
Contact:

Re: Patch meshes

Postby ailmanki » Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:05 pm

NetRadiant can create patch meshes up to 31x31, FYI.

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Patch meshes

Postby vulture » Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:43 pm

I did this in my map by breaking down larger meshes into 15x15 meshes, although I did that programatically, so that probably doesnt help if you're using radiant to create them

User avatar
ailmanki
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:06 am
Contact:

Re: Patch meshes

Postby ailmanki » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:21 am

Curious, what did you need that for vulture? I guess you imported some kind of model?
I have big interests in that :)

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Patch meshes

Postby vulture » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:36 am

Yeah I've used it for models, bowls (until I realized that triangles seem to glide better), and obscure surfaces. For example:
Image
This surface doesn't technically exist as a discrete surface, so it looks awful when made with brushes. But, q3 seems to do a really good job visually when using patch meshes.

Image
This one you can see the patch mesh subdivided in radiant... the textures were a little buggy (twisted) because of whatever and I never ended up polishing this jump. But, essentially the entire length of the "roller coaster" is just a very long 3D curve drawn in space, which some code converts into a set of points on a NxM patch mesh. Then, some other code writes that patch mesh to a .map file, dividing the NxM patch mesh into several adjacent PxQ patch meshes when necessary, where P and Q are both odd integers <= 15.

User avatar
KroniK
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:44 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Re: Patch meshes

Postby KroniK » Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:03 am

"I still miss my ex girlfriend, but my aim is improving."

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Patch meshes

Postby vulture » Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:08 am

I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic or not :D :( I can explain more detail if you want, or give some code, but I was just trying to be brief :P


Return to “Radiant”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron