Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

For all topics related to using or installing radiant
RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby RedSnappa » Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:27 am

My trisoup is done. But now I get this error when I try to test the map:
Z_Malloc: failed on allocation of 44104728 bytes from the main zone

What do I do now? My com_hunkmegs is already set to 1024.
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby vulture » Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:22 am

how many brushes do you have?! my map had something like 150k brushes and I didn't need to set mine above 128! how big is the .bsp ?

RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby RedSnappa » Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:26 am

Brush count is 15855 and entity count is 288 (though this will grow later). BSP size is 17779 KB with just a meta compile. I haven't done VIS or lighting yet. I know I have to make more than the bounding box structural, but I didn't want to bother with that until I had the layout finished. Detail brushes into structural is the next step, unless I have to do something else to eliminate this error.
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby vulture » Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:36 am

I only have my bounding boxes structural. It always saved space for me. Everything else is detail. Your BSP size seems huge considering you only have 16k brushes. Do you have lots of large open volumes or something?

RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby RedSnappa » Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:00 am

My current map goes from -3584 to +3584 in X, -2400 to +2400 in Y, and 0 to 1120 in Z. I have made a map that was larger than this that ran properly, but it required the -notjunc command to compile. This one compiles with or without -notjunc, but won't run.
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby vulture » Thu Jul 19, 2012 3:27 am

That's really small... I don't understand how your bsp is so big... :P what's your map look like? Something must be wrong =/

RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby RedSnappa » Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:28 pm

Here it is:
arctica17.jpg
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby vulture » Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:06 pm

That is a lot of terrain type stuff in one room, maybe that's why, I dunno. I remember "outdoor" style maps always worked really poorly in the q3 engine. But I thought that was mainly a vis issue not a meta issue.. don't know what to tell you. :P Have you tried compiling it in a more modern q3map2? (e.g. mine or xonotic's?)

User avatar
Rylius
King wiki
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby Rylius » Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:57 pm

I really don't see how that can be almost 16k brushes - can you post a screenshot of the 2D top-down view?
Rain - Blog - deviantArt
<Delirium> I did like a reverse jizz
<Delirium> in my pants
<Delirium> my jeans went into my sack
<Delirium> through my dick

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: MAX_MAP_DRAW_INDEXES

Postby vulture » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:10 pm

What's the dimensions on your terrain grid? Like how many brushes across each direction? That could add up fast if you did it really high quality.


Return to “Radiant”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron