Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

how to test map in urt?

For all topics related to using or installing radiant
User avatar
banksy
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

how to test map in urt?

Postby banksy » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:51 am

So whenever I have wanted to test my map I have had to make a pk3 file and pack it all the textures, shaders, etc. But I know you can open it straight from radiant. How is this done. I have tired building the map and typing the sv_ command in hurt, but the map won't open. What do I do?
Image

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby vulture » Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:00 am

in my urt dev folder I compile my .map to .bsp inside q3ut4/maps
then inside urt, I open console and type /devmap mymapname

so, for example, if I have a map ames.map in q3ut4/maps
this compiles to ames.bsp inside q3ut4/maps
then I do /devmap ames

easy :P

User avatar
Rayne
Site Admin
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby Rayne » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:32 pm

To run it directly from radiant you have to compile it in radiant, and radiants compile settings aren't always what you want.
And you don't have to pack it all up in a pk3. Use q3map for compiling and the game will launch as soon as compiling finishes.
Alternative (better) way is to use a batch file.

User avatar
banksy
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby banksy » Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:33 am

I think the problem is because q3map is a windows application and I am running osx
Image

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby vulture » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:35 am

what I said works regardless of OS, it's also faster than launching from radiant (you can just leave your urt open, can even be already testing your map, recompile, then just console / up-enter reload)

User avatar
banksy
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby banksy » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:54 am

What option do you use when you compile?
Its says my .bsp was compiled to the junk.text document
Last edited by banksy on Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
banksy
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby banksy » Thu Jan 10, 2013 2:58 am

And what do you mean by urt dev folder?
Image

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby vulture » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:15 am

I have an urt installation for mapping. This isn't required; you can use your normal urt install too. By dev folder I just mean wherever you compile your maps into bsps. I have no idea what you're talking about junk.text document. This is not a quake3 term and probably has nothing to do with urt or quake3 or bsps or maps. All you do is compile your .map to .bsp, make sure the .bsp is inside your urt/q3ut4/maps folder (or some subdirectory thereof) and go IN GAME and type /devmap nameofmap where nameofmap was the name of your bsp

User avatar
banksy
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:10 am
Location: Australia

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby banksy » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:19 am

Here is how I compile. I open net radiant. Open .map. click build and select one of the (test) options. Then in the terminal at the bottom of radiant it says: the build output will be saved in '/users/cbanks/.netradiant/ 1.5.0/junk.text'
When I open junk.txt it just has a whole bunch of text about textures and shader and what not as well as error messages
Image

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: how to test map in urt?

Postby vulture » Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:26 am

that's just talking about the build log, it has nothing to do with your actual map... where is your MAP?


Return to “Radiant”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests