Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

Patch mesh count

For all topics related to using or installing radiant
RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Patch mesh count

Postby RedSnappa » Sat Jan 11, 2014 6:35 pm

By default, Radiant shows a count of the total number of brushes and entities in a map. For example, a map I am working on now shows

Brushes: 8861 Entities: 607

1. I would like to modify this to include a count of the total number of patch meshes in a map. How to do this?
2. I would like to replace the entity count with a point entity count and a brush entity count. Can this be done?
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

User avatar
Iye
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 5:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Patch mesh count

Postby Iye » Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:25 pm

Oh yeah. second point could be pretty handy, since you dont have to get out your calc and count the brush ents :)
Had this problem with old town (you know, all the sharded windows...)
Sorry for my bad spelling - I am still asleep. :)

|=| Iye's UrT Addon |=| Firefox Personas |=| Maps |=|
Image

User avatar
Rayne
Site Admin
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Patch mesh count

Postby Rayne » Tue Jan 21, 2014 11:12 pm

Don't use patch meshes, patch meshes are evil. Period, if you need something that requires a patch mesh to be used, make an .ASE model and import it.
Patch meshes are evil, remember that.

vulture
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Patch mesh count

Postby vulture » Tue Jan 21, 2014 11:20 pm

do you have a better way to do 1-sided and/or non-lemmable surfaces? :)

User avatar
Rayne
Site Admin
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Patch mesh count

Postby Rayne » Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:34 pm

vulture wrote:do you have a better way to do 1-sided and/or non-lemmable surfaces? :)


You need explain your problem into more details.

What i understood is that you need a single sided surface that wont cause damage when you fall on top of it.

RedSnappa
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:10 pm
Location: North Carolina (USA)

Re: Patch mesh count

Postby RedSnappa » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:27 pm

Rayne wrote:Don't use patch meshes, patch meshes are evil. Period, if you need something that requires a patch mesh to be used, make an .ASE model and import it.
Patch meshes are evil, remember that.

So you never use patches for anything? What about a simple archway or straight pipe/tunnel?

I have tried to make .ase files using patch meshes and there are always triangles missing.
[LCDLC]Snappa
LCDLC Mapmaking Dept.
Maps finished: Hellhouse, Sorry, Worrior 1-20
Maps modded: CubeOrigin
Maps in release candidate: Blockforts, Cannons 1, Hotzone, Icecastle
Maps in beta: Arctica, Cannons 2, Cerulean-River, Igloo, Skygarden, Spacestation
Maps in alpha: Merlin, Totem

User avatar
Rayne
Site Admin
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Patch mesh count

Postby Rayne » Wed Jan 22, 2014 7:08 pm

RedSnappa wrote:
Rayne wrote:Don't use patch meshes, patch meshes are evil. Period, if you need something that requires a patch mesh to be used, make an .ASE model and import it.
Patch meshes are evil, remember that.

So you never use patches for anything? What about a simple archway or straight pipe/tunnel?

I have tried to make .ase files using patch meshes and there are always triangles missing.

Never for anything.

Why would you make .ase models out of patch meshes, just use any 3d modeling software there is.


Return to “Radiant”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests