Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

Bots and servers

A forum to discuss Urban Terror
Teerasas
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:29 pm

Bots and servers

Postby Teerasas » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:41 pm

Hey guys and mostly Johny,

Didn't know where to put it, so i put it here, hope it's ok. I'm having this local server for people i invite, hosted from my comp., and we kinda want to pwn the bots, but they crash the server extremely often. I remembered Your CTF server with the whole team of brainless goos, thought id ask what did You do to make bots work? Or anyone, any tips?

User avatar
johnnyenglish
Space cake
Posts: 893
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Nottingham, England

Re: Bots and servers

Postby johnnyenglish » Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:25 pm

Hooray Teerasas is here!

What I did was buy a really expensive rack mount server (HP prolient) - installed 64-bit ubuntu and the ran only 1 instance of vanilla (not 4.11) 64-bit Urt loaded up with 16 bots.

It was the stupidest idea I ever had but the server was full for 2 years solid and rose to 5th most popular server worldwide at one point. It had 57,000 player ids in the b3 db when we finally closed it down.

If you're crazy enough to try it again read the CMM wiki

Good luck - and welcome back

User avatar
nemNEMnem
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 11:11 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Bots and servers

Postby nemNEMnem » Thu Sep 22, 2011 5:50 pm

sry johnny, but i have to correct you.... :(
the crashing of the server has absoulutly nothing to do with the OS...
if u want to start a server with bots, you have to watch these things if you want that the server is alive:

- the server should NOT to be 4.1.1
- there should NO custommaps which doesnt works with bots (those who dont have any .aas files inside)
- in the mapcycle should only stand the maps which work with bots (dressing room, abbey, turnpike...) and NO MAP who does not work with bots (eagle and alot of other stockmaps)

now the server should work fine. (me and lux worked this out)
for a big tree, you need a small axe.
--Bob Marley--

Teerasas
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:29 pm

Re: Bots and servers

Postby Teerasas » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:18 pm

Hehe, I'm glad too :) I've quit UrTfor like 2 months because of lack of new content in the game and my stubborness to try other games, but now I'm playing a little again, but mostly with friends on my minigame maps which happen to be extra fun with bots :).

your expensive server idea is a little off my price range, because i spend most of my money on gym and pool-related stuff (that game where You've to knock colorful balls into pockets using white ball, not swimming thing, i get that along with the gym).

nemNEM's idea seems okay! But as i said, I'm running a "local" server, so i shouldnt have non-bot maps at my q3ut4 folder or at mapcycle.txt? Anyways, thanks guys, gonna try these things now!

Oh, and 1 more thing: How can i have only bot-supported maps if alot of vanilla UrT's maps arent?

OH man, it worked, thanks! Hi5!

User avatar
Runamok
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:00 am

Re: Bots and servers

Postby Runamok » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:44 pm

there are some maps that crash bots (it might even just be the number of maps) I've had bots crash when they shouldn't, and not crash where they should.

User avatar
theRipper
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Bots and servers

Postby theRipper » Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:28 am

im a pro bot server master anti-noob ;) lol ask me anything
Image

User avatar
Rayne
Site Admin
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Bots and servers

Postby Rayne » Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:38 am

I think bots crash during spawns, game tries to spawn bots on as few spawn points to leave the rest for real players and then bots crash.
If a map has too few spawn points it will try to spawn several bots in one point in the same time and then shit hits the fan.
I could easily be wrong on this but IMO it makes sense. Like people being dropped from the server with "reliable command cycled out" error. I think that one too is related to spawn points. Too many people attempt a respawn at the same time, game can't handle the load cause of a lack of spawn points and extra load gets dropped.

Teerasas
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:29 pm

Re: Bots and servers

Postby Teerasas » Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:22 pm

Hm, I was happy for a short moment but bots still do crash on CTF with 1 friend on and 4 bots on Turnpike. According to Rayne, bots wouldn't crash at TS? Any other tips :)?

(Sure, they work alot longer, but that doesn't matter as it crashes whole server out :()

User avatar
johnnyenglish
Space cake
Posts: 893
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Nottingham, England

Re: Bots and servers

Postby johnnyenglish » Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:28 am

As far as I know I'm the only person who ever managed to get bots to run on casa and turnpike in ctf/tdm without crashing the server - and I did it for 2 years.

Read my first post, then the wiki - if you can't run 16 bots + 16 humans on casa + turnpike for 2 weeks without crashing the server you're wasting your time.

If you do manage it I'll bet you you're using 64-bit ubuntu and my 64-bit binary.

User avatar
Delirium
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Bots and servers

Postby Delirium » Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:19 pm

Thats actually quite impressive JE
Image


Return to “Urban Terror Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron