Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

Mapping for UrT HD

General mapping discussions
flajeen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Évora, Portugal

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby flajeen » Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:51 am

This is good. Finally Urban Terror can get the visual quality that it needs.
Image

User avatar
Rylius
King wiki
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 8:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby Rylius » Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:59 am

I run 4.1 faster than most of other players. I can actually play on 50 slot servers with solid 125 FPS and graphics pushed to the max. 4.1 doesn't use the GPU, it's all CPU, while in HD it's the other way round.

I can agree on Blender 2.4, but they reworked the UI in 2.5 and it's a HUGE improvement. I picked it up pretty fast. Key is the learn the keyboard shortcuts for a bunch of actions.
Radiant is so basic it doesn't take more than a week to learn most features tbh.
Rain - Blog - deviantArt
<Delirium> I did like a reverse jizz
<Delirium> in my pants
<Delirium> my jeans went into my sack
<Delirium> through my dick

User avatar
johnnyenglish
Space cake
Posts: 892
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Nottingham, England

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby johnnyenglish » Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:07 am

That link by 27 which del posted is a good example - at least in the version of max I have it even has a lot of low(ish) poly tree types included.

I'm so pleased the engine designer has made this post - his terrain is max mesh - it's probably time to take the hint and start considering a different way of making maps.

MajkiFajki

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby MajkiFajki » Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:09 am

We have to buy software for $$$ to make a map for free game.

O tempora! O mores!

flajeen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Évora, Portugal

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby flajeen » Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:10 am

Blender is free.
Image

User avatar
Delirium
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby Delirium » Sun Oct 16, 2011 11:39 am

Look, you can still map in Radiant... Shits sake, they haven't removed mapping in GTK completely and you CAN convert brushwork from Radiant to and ASE thus making HD render your map as a model. Its not a big a fuss as people think it is, Surfs are now rendered in batches from the GPU too so in all models and brushes are rendered the same, just like they are now just a heck of a lot fast.
Which now gives us the ability to add a lot more detail weather it be brushes or models. I got NulL to clarify this for us, to be honest... I'd take NulLs understanding of mapping over Frankie's (no offense to Frankie)

Honestly there's no NEED to switch to Max, sure it might be a lot easier and we can add a lot more detail more easily than before, but thanks for bringing this up cause I've investigated and found I can stay right where I am :)

We can just use those really tris expensive models we've always wanted to use from random online sites :D
Image

User avatar
ValkoVer
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 am
Location: Poland

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby ValkoVer » Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:00 pm

Rylius wrote:If you have a decent graphics card, that is. I'm actually running HD WAY slower than 4.1.

I don't like this modelling stuff, mapping just loses its flair of moving brushes around.
Radiant doesn't require a modelling tool and that's what at least attracted me to it. It's very easy to pick up and work with it, of which at least the first isn't true for Blender (Can't speak for Max since that's a *little* too expensive for me).

If it's for placing props and sculpting terrain I can go use CryEngine 3 too, their editor is optimized for something like this.

I really don't care if it's more optimized/modern in the end, since mapping is a hobby I just want to have fun with it.
I have tried mapping in Blender already and it wasn't fun at all.
Oh well, finish Italy and UrT mapping is dead for me then.


+1 <3

Im trying to learn blender as milkshape is *a little* too primitive, but i don't think i will create all geomtry using it.

MajkiFajki

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby MajkiFajki » Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:17 pm

If you have a decent graphics card, that is. I'm actually running HD WAY slower than 4.1.


fstech1 is still WiP. What I have in mind now is support myself with modelling software. I'm still not convinced to making entire map in 3dMax or Blender. But still have not tried it :)

bludshot
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:12 am

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby bludshot » Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:42 pm

.
Last edited by bludshot on Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Delirium
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:37 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Mapping for UrT HD

Postby Delirium » Sun Oct 16, 2011 10:27 pm

The Millions of light entities are only good cause it makes bumpy look a lot more realistic, Oaks is the only map which I have EVER used the light entity, and I hate it lol... Shaders are so much easier and look a lot more realistic than the light entities. I'd say for night time maps the light entity is the way to go.
But the "New" method by FrankieV doesn't seem much like a new method at all to be honest...
Image


Return to “Mapping Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron