Welcome to CMM

The CMM forum software was recently upgraded, some things may have changed and some things may be broken or not working. Please let me know by PM or on IRC if you have any problems using this forum.

Also, I've removed the skybox and shader links for now, the shader generator page was being abused and as we're moving towards a ue4 mapping base, they're redundant.

CMM - map validation service

For all your great and interesting ideas
flajeen
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Évora, Portugal

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby flajeen » Mon Nov 14, 2011 4:50 pm

Rayne wrote:If you don't understand power of 2 rule then you definitely should not be a mapper.
No offense intended, but it's true.
Power of 2 is simple.
Each next is 2 times bigger then the previous one.
This applies not just in textures but in other computer related things. Like RAM, you'll never see a computer with 456 MB of RAM, or 2367 MB.
Manufacturing standard always has and always will be a power of 2.
Lets take 128 as our starting point, 128*2=256, 256*2=512, 512*2=1024, 1024*2=2048....and so on.
Why is this important for UrT. idtech3 engine uses power of 2 textures, which means a 768*768 texture won't be accepted or displayed at it's true resolution. UrT will automatically resize it to the lowest first power of 2 value.
So your 768*768 will in the end be displayed as 512*512. All you achieved is an increase in pk3 file size without any benefits at all.


I've seen computers with 3072mb (3gb), 192mb.

xandaxs, you've probably studied that on school, at least i did.

2^1 = 2
2^2 = 4
2^3 = 2x2x2 = 8
2^4 = 2x2x2x2 = 16

...
Image

User avatar
nemNEMnem
Posts: 271
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 11:11 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby nemNEMnem » Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:03 pm

what the hell happens with my reply? it is gone? :(
again: i realy like that idea, je, but one thing i would put out of the list: the .aas-file, it is not always possible to compile this file and i think just funmaps or maps like skeetshoot need it.
for a big tree, you need a small axe.
--Bob Marley--

User avatar
Rayne
Site Admin
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby Rayne » Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:37 pm

192=128+64
3072=2048+1024
There is always a power of 2, always. And the computer doesn't recognizes 3072 GB it recognizes 2048+1024 and displays the ending result to the user.

User avatar
v3nd3tta
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby v3nd3tta » Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:41 pm

what's about 33 bit processors? lol
ps: can you make a list with all those cool "power of 2 /+ power of 2 added" things?
would be really useful if I'd ever come to my texture plans and also nice for the wiki ;)
Homepage | YouTube | Hazewood Security
Steam: v3nd3tta`` | Twitter: v3nd3tta1337

User avatar
DagF
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby DagF » Mon Nov 14, 2011 6:05 pm

It's already here: wiki/index.php/Textures:Custom

What's any use for mapping would be 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512(this is normaly the greatest for urt 4.1), 1024, 2048(maybe for use in urt hd). You can use 1, 2, 4 and 8 too but i really dont see why you would.

The textures dosent have to be eg. 512*512 it can be 128*512 or 256*512. It really depends and you know best when it will be to good use. for a corridor wall i would make it 256 high and 512 wide. couse you will have it to tile horisontal so when it's biggher that way it will go longer before it repeat itselfe.
Image

User avatar
Rayne
Site Admin
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby Rayne » Mon Nov 14, 2011 6:11 pm

v3nd3tta wrote:what's about 33 bit processors? lol
ps: can you make a list with all those cool "power of 2 /+ power of 2 added" things?
would be really useful if I'd ever come to my texture plans and also nice for the wiki ;)

Why plural, there was only one back in the 80's. And on top of all intels 432 was a fail so it doesn't counts :P

User avatar
xandaxs
Posts: 959
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Contact:

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby xandaxs » Mon Nov 14, 2011 6:36 pm

and that's just it? O_O
I though it was something way more complicated!!

Can mappers still achieve full quality of the texture if it is for example 512*1024?
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> morning Nounou
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> wotcha doing?
[12:25] <Nounou> hello
[12:26] <Nounou> nothing much, i've nothing to do at work so
[12:26] <Nounou> modeling woman
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> woo
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> real women?
[12:26] <Nounou> realistic yes, on maya

Image

User avatar
xandaxs
Posts: 959
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Contact:

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby xandaxs » Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:14 pm

My idea was something like this:
Image

But with the tick comming our of the circle.. [circle doesn't need to be a "perfect circle"], and saying Approved by the CMM community or the long name, Custom Map Makers community
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> morning Nounou
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> wotcha doing?
[12:25] <Nounou> hello
[12:26] <Nounou> nothing much, i've nothing to do at work so
[12:26] <Nounou> modeling woman
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> woo
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> real women?
[12:26] <Nounou> realistic yes, on maya

Image

User avatar
johnnyenglish
Space cake
Posts: 895
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Nottingham, England

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby johnnyenglish » Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:53 am

Yeah, they're nice xandaxs - that kind of thing.

There's no official FS support for this idea but here's the deal.

The CMM stamp is something you can apply for when you release a map.

Simply post a request in this forum Map test forum with a link to your map.

The map will be tested against a checklist on clean installs of urt / urt 4.1.1 and the alpha urt hd.

If your map fails any of the tests you will be able to download a zip file containing screenshots of problems and a document containing comments and possible fixes.

You can then resubmit the map after you've fixed up the problems, you can do this as many times as you need before your map is ready for release.

If your map passes all the tests a we'll append some text (blah blah this map passes the CMM test blah blah) to your readme file and if you request it a discrete stamp will be added to your levelshot (optional). The pk3 will be added to the CMM server and you'll be able to download the certified pk3 from the CMM download, you'll also be able to use this link when you release the map.

I've had a couple of offers from people wishing to help test the maps, if anyone else wishes to help out, let me know.

It might help filter out those simple mistakes we all make when we release a map and save some red faces.

User avatar
xandaxs
Posts: 959
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Contact:

Re: CMM - stamp of quality for maps

Postby xandaxs » Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:42 am

I can help testing the map, and get people to test it's gameplay if needed...

And.. "CMM approved" is better, shorter, simple..
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> morning Nounou
[12:25] <JohnnyEnglish> wotcha doing?
[12:25] <Nounou> hello
[12:26] <Nounou> nothing much, i've nothing to do at work so
[12:26] <Nounou> modeling woman
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> woo
[12:26] <JohnnyEnglish> real women?
[12:26] <Nounou> realistic yes, on maya

Image


Return to “Suggestions and ideas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron